NYSButton-Itunes-01NYSButton-Stitcher-01

Today’s guest on the show is musician and content creator Willard Hill.

We met up at Ink48, a Kimpton hotel in the heart Hell’s Kitchen and talked about growing up in New Orleans, how culture is a gumbo, his process of making music, the music industry, group think, corporate culture, overcoming creative roadblocks, art being a reflection of the times and much much more.

More About Willard Hill

  1. Official Site – http://www.willardhill.com
  2. Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/willardhill/
  3. iTunes – https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/willard-hill/id448858050
  4. YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/WillardHillMusic
Links to the Stuff they Talked About
  1. Second Line – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Second_line_(parades)
  2. Cash Money Records – http://www.cashmoney-records.com
  3. No Limit Records – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/No_Limit_Records
  4. Pen and Pixels – http://penandpixel.com
  5. Master P – Bout It, Bout It II – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZEjKf4gBJw
  6. The Showboys – Drag Rap (Triggaman) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJyo1fjtNw4
  7. DJ Money Fresh – Brown Beats – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bwDZhQyEWhc
  8. UNLV/Bad Ass Yellow Boy – Drag Em Thru The River – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=843Nu5uJ3YM
  9. Ira Glass on Storytelling – https://vimeo.com/24715531
  10. Nick Hakim – I Don’t Know – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C8wNpiBqn_0
  11. Quincy Jones – http://www.quincyjones.com
  12. Shoe Dog – https://www.amazon.com/Shoe-Dog-Memoir-Creator-Nike/dp/1501135910
  13. 6 Days to Air – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2076781/
  14. How I Built This (Podcast) – http://www.npr.org/series/490248027/how-i-built-this
  15. Isaiah Rashad – https://soundcloud.com/isaiah_rashad
  16. Negotiating with Giants – https://www.amazon.com/Negotiating-Giants-Peter-D-Johnston/dp/0980942101
  17. The Art of War – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Art_of_War
  18. Gotham Market – http://gothamwestmarket.com
  19. Blue Bottle Coffee – https://bluebottlecoffee.com
  20. Cannibal – http://www.cannibalnyc.com
  21. Ample Hills Ice Cream – http://www.amplehills.com
  22. Platinum Sound Studio – http://www.platinumsoundny.com
  23. Wyclef Jean – http://www.wyclef.com
  24. Who Moved My Cheese – http://amzn.to/2g6wcxJ
  25. Marijuana and the Bible – http://amzn.to/2g6BbP5
  26. My Ishmael – http://amzn.to/2h21Azz
  27. Outliers: The Story of Success – http://amzn.to/2ggPxQk
  28. Jimmy McMillan – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_McMillan
  29. Black Dynamite – http://blackdynamite.com
  30. This episode is sponsored by Gorilla Coffee.

Subscribe

Subscribe now to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.