,

Paying Dues, Touring with Jay Z and the Dinner & A Mixtape Series

A Conversation with DJ Neil Armstrong

dj neil armstrong

Today’s guest on the show is DJ Neil Armstrong. I’ve been listening to Neil’s mixes for well over 10 years now and I can honestly say I was pretty hype when he accepted my invite to appear on the show.

In this episode we have a super in-depth conversation about paying dues, how to sustain longevity in the entertainment business, his dog Poh, universal languages, his various experiences as a tour DJ for Jay Z, Neil’s Dinner & A Mixtape series plus much much more.

Just a heads up, we recorded this in a pretty quiet room. And a bunch of little kids showed up with their moms and all of a sudden it got live. It got loud, but Neil and I never stopped. We were knee deep into the conversation and at that point it didn’t make sense to move.

You can still hear us really clearly but the party in the background does get a bit distracting at times, I apologize in advance.

With that said, please enjoy.

Website – https://djneilarmstrong.com

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/djneilarmstrong

Dinner & A Mixtape – https://www.facebook.com/dinnerandamixtape

Twitter – https://twitter.com/djneilarmstrong

Soundcloud – https://soundcloud.com/neil-armstrong-3

Here is a Sample from one of my favorite Mixes:

You can buy DJ Neil Armstrong mixes here: https://djneilarmstrong.com/digital/


Links to the Stuff they Talked About

Newcleus – Jam On It – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IaNzrXAUHBk

RUN DMC – http://www.rundmc.com

Beastie Boys – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beastie_Boys

NWA – Straight Outta Compton – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMZi25Pq3T8

Eric B. & Rakim – Follow the Leader – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=95gP3m-uBHA

Vanilla Ice – http://www.vanillaice.com

Justin Bieber – https://www.instagram.com/justinbieber/?hl=en

Gold Era of Hip-Hop – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golden_age_hip_hop

98.7 Kiss – Frankie Crocker – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zc_3ke1h9tI

DJ Gold Finger – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PqSMTzUm50o

Sweet Series – https://djneilarmstrong.com/digital/sweeet/

G-Bo the Pro and Double R – http://gbothepro.com

Grandmaster Vic – http://www.mixtapedia.org/grandmaster-vic-09-21-94

DJ Doo Wop – http://nahright.com/mixtape-memories-with-dj-doo-wop/

Tony Touch – http://www.tonytouch.com

DJ Controllers – http://www.guitarcenter.com/DJ-Controllers-Interfaces.gc

Technics 1200 Turntables – https://www.turntablelab.com/pages/guide-to-technics-1200-turntables

Serato – https://serato.com

DJ Daddy Dog – http://www.djdaddydog.com

Cooper Union – https://cooper.edu/welcome

Lil Uzi Vert – https://www.youtube.com/user/LILUZIVERT

Lil Yachty – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1X3TRsCt36QPjF1p5f3HTg

Jay Z – http://lifeandtimes.com

Kanye – http://www.kanyewest.com

J. Cole – http://dreamville.com

Vashtie Kola – http://www.vashtie.com

The Rock WWE – http://www.wwe.com/superstars/the-rock

DJ Drama Arrested – http://www.mtv.com/news/1550066/dj-drama-arrested-in-atlanta-mixtape-raid/

Torrents – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Torrent

Buying Patterns – http://www.mbaskool.com/business-concepts/marketing-and-strategy-terms/10916-buying-pattern.html

Mick – http://mick.co

Jazzy Jeff and Mick Boogie, Summer Time Mix Series – https://www.mixcloud.com/SoulCoolRecords/dj-jazzy-jeff-mick-boogie-summertime-mixtape-vol-1-2010/

Kid Capri – http://www.kidcapri.com/site/

DJ Kay Slay – https://www.instagram.com/therealdjkayslay/

DJ Clue – https://twitter.com/DJCLUE

DJ Drama – https://twitter.com/DJDRAMA

DJ Vlad – https://www.youtube.com/user/djvlad

DJ Red Alert – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kool_DJ_Red_Alert

DJ Camilo – http://www.djcamilo.com

Justo Mixtape Awards – http://foolsgoldrecs.com/tag/justo-mixtape-awards/

Turntablisit – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turntablism

The Cranberries – http://www.cranberries.com

Coldplay – http://coldplay.com

Donald Glover – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donald_Glover

The Smiths – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Smiths

Batman in the 60s – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batman_(TV_series)

New Wave – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_wave_music

Master Ace – https://twitter.com/mastaace

Trends of Culture – Off and On – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7G3bAiHCvlg

Morrissey – http://pitchfork.com/artists/2837-morrissey/

Bon Jovi – https://twitter.com/BonJovi

Guns N Rose – http://www.gunsnroses.com

Nirvana – http://www.nirvana.com

Boot Camp Click – http://duckdown.com/website/boot-camp-clik

DJ Premier – https://twitter.com/REALDJPREMIER

Bowery Ball Room – http://www.boweryballroom.com

Poh the Dog – https://www.instagram.com/pohthedogsbigadventure/?hl=en

Seal Hunting – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seal_hunting

Dinner and Mixtape – https://www.instagram.com/dinnerandamixtape/

DJ Poon – http://www.youlovepoon.com

Tanya Morgan – http://www.tanyamorgan.net

Funk Flex – http://www.inflexwetrust.com

A-Trak – http://atrak.com

Fools Gold – https://twitter.com/FoolsGoldRecs

Hypebeast – https://hypebeast.com

Highsnobiety – http://www.highsnobiety.com

Sky Gellatly – https://www.instagram.com/skygellatly/?hl=en

Iconoclast Art + Artist Management – http://www.icnclst.com

Dj Mr Sinister – https://www.facebook.com/mrsinister.dj/

DJ Dummy – http://djdummythegenius.com

Tiesto – https://www.tiesto.com

Jeff Staple – http://www.stapledesign.com

Harold Hunter – http://www.haroldhunter.org

Dao-Yi – https://publicschoolnyc.com

Bobbito Garcia – http://stretchandbobbito.com

This episode is sponsored by Gorilla Coffee.

Written by Amon Focus

Amon Focus is enamored with video/audio production, photography, travel, art, fresh music, good eats, great people and all things creative.

Showtime Hood

Give the Drummer Some

Bryon Summers

Portrait Walks, TheWeLoveYouProject and Staying Consistent